International Alliance of Research Universities

The International Alliance of Research Universities (IARU) is an alliance of ten of the world’s leading research universities (below). The IARU Sustainability Working Group first convened in 2007 and was formalized in 2009 with the aim of promoting collaboration between member institutions and developing best practices strategies in environmental management. Participating members meet on an annual basis at one of the participating institutions to report out on progress to date and exchange best practices.

Every summer the IARU Sustainability Working Group facilitates a Sustainability Fellowship exchange program between participating institutions. Fellows are undergraduate or graduate students from each of the participating institutions to support on-going research and projects at the host Office of Sustainability. 

The Presidents of the IARU have stated their ongoing commitment to sustainability and each member of the Alliance has established programs to progressively improve their environmental performance across University activities, as well as building an ecologically literate community.

The Australian National University
Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule (ETH) Zürich
National University of Singapore
Peking University
University of California, Berkeley
University of Cambridge
University of Copenhagen
University of Oxford
The University of Tokyo
Yale University

For additional information, visit the official IARU web site.